Skip to main content

Mechanical and Industrial Engineering : Web Portals

Key Resources

Searching the literature:

Need a book, video, periodical,  or other type of material available at Northeastern libraries?.. go to 

Scholar OneSearch  --  One-stop searching for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media and more. Search local Northeastern collections and global resources - many items available full text online.

Need articles? *SEARCH TIP: New Topic? Search the databases using relevant keywords, include 'review' or 'review articles' as one of the limiting terms. Check the resulting articles for a history of research in the topic, research milestones and the references which may include writings by notable researchers!

*Works in many databases.

Begin your search with these 2 databases:

  • Compendex/Inspec - all engineering disciplines
  • ScienceDirect - engineering, chemistry and other sciences, many full text articles

Need information about chemical substances?

Best Bets

For books, search ScholarOneSearch, the library's catalog and discovery system

For articles begin your search with Compendex

Portals

  • ABET: Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology, Inc. (ABET)
    A directory of professional engineering societies which accredit undergraduate engineering programs with links to the homepages of the society.
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • Celebration of Women in Engineering
    National Academy of Engineering web site, with information about contests and scholarships, mentoring programs, links to funding and financial aid sites. (kh)
  • Committee on Women in Science and Engineering
    This committee is part of the National Research Council and serves as a national focus to promote increasing the participation of women in the science and engineering workforce.
  • NASA astronauts
  • National Academies (of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine)
  • Society of Women Engineers
    United States organization promoting the role of women in engineering.
  • U.S. Department of Energy OSTI - (Office of Scientific & Technical Information) Key Databases and Resources
    Provides searchable access to scientific and technical information (STI) in the physical sciences and other disciplines of concern to the Department of Energy (DOE).  Using the DOE Science Accelerator  you can search vast collections of recent and legacy research and development (R&D) results and other science resources.
  • ThomasNet  Product/Service, Catalogs, CAD Drawings
  • Subject Guide

    Joan Omoruyi's picture
    Joan Omoruyi
    Contact:
    Snell Library
    Northeastern University
    Boston, MA
    617-373-2806