Skip to main content

Chemistry: Articles

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.

List of Key Resources for Articles in Chemistry

These licensed resources are for current NU affiliates only.

SciFinder

For a comprehensive chemistry literature search. Provides searching of Chemical Abstracts, 1907-present. Note: See Use Restrictions and instructions for registration for first-time users.

American Chemical Society Journals 

Note: Selected titles are available only. Includes journal archives, containing over one hundred years of coverage.

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals 

Note: Selected titles are available only. Includes journal archives,

Knovel Library 

Interactive books and databases for scientific and engineering information. Chemical propertiy data, chemical equations and digital graphs. Analyze data, sort, filter and export from 'live tables', resolve equations and plot graphs, capture values from existing graphs and perform 'what if' experiments.

Nature Journals Online 

The flagship journal Nature is is the most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal according to ISI's journal citation reports; Northeastern's subscription includes a number of sister titles-- Nature Chemistry, Nature Chemical Biology, Nature Climate Change, and more.

Web of Science

Use for finding publishing trends and impact factors, or as an article database. This multidisciplinary database covers 8,500 high impact research journals. 

Compendex with Inspec (EI Village) 

A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, containing over 9 million records. References over 5,000 international engineering sources including journals, conferences, and trade publications. 1969 to present, updated weekly.

Academic Search Complete

Searches more than 6,000 scholarly journals on all academic subjects. (Includes non-scholarly content as well.) An easy way to get full-text results from a chemistry literature search, although it's less comprehensive than a SciFinder search. 

Business Source Complete 

Business news and research; for searches on the chemical industry.

Nexis Uni

Newspapers, periodicals, public records, and legal documents, often within 24 hours of publication (sources from LexisNexis). Mostly full text.

 

JoVE - the Journal of Visualized Experiments

JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. 

The Library subscribes to the following sections of JoVE:  BiologyNeuroscience, Bioengineering and sections of JoVE Science Education Database (General Lab Techniques, Basic Methods in Cellular and Molecular Biology, and Essentials of Neuroscience)

Interlibrary Loan

Need an article?  Request articles that are not available at NU through ILLiadour interlibrary loan service.

Ask a Librarian

Get Help from a Librarian 

Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit

Subject Guide

Kathy Herrlich's picture
Kathy Herrlich
Contact:
270 Snell Library
617-373-5305