Skip to main content

Chemistry: Books/ebooks

A guide to online and print resources in chemistry.

Ebooks/books

Find chemistry books in Scholar OneSearch.  Limit to LIBRARY CATALOGS using the drop down menu. This results in items in the Northeastern Library Collections.

Once you have your search results, use the facets on the left to refine your search. 

Search by title, author, or keyword in the advanced search.

Ebooks include a link to the full text and are viewable from a web browser.  

Ebook collections: You can also access chemistry ebooks through collections from individual publishers. Go to eBook collection (Ebsco)SpringerLink Ebooks and Ebrary, all of which include books in chemistry.

See also information on downloading to e-book devices.

New books classified in the sciences

Title

The 2015 UKM FST Postgraduate Colloquium : proceedings of the Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Faculty of Science and Technology 2015 15-16 April 2015

Advanced computational methods for knowledge engineering : proceedings of the 2nd International Conference on Computer Science, Applied Mathematics and Applications (ICCSAMA 2014)

Advances in computational intelligence : 11th International Work-Conference on Artificial Neural Networks, IWANN 2011, Torremolinos-Málaga, Spain, June 8-10, 2011, Proceedings.

Arguing science : a dialogue on the future of science and spirit

Artificial intelligence and soft computing : 11th International Conference, ICAISC 2012, Zakopane, Poland, April 29-May 3, 2012

Bibliometrics and research evaluation : uses and abuses

Global scientific practice in an age of revolutions, 1750-1850

Innocent experiments childhood and the culture of popular science in the United States

International Conference on Advances in Natural and Applied Sciences : ICANAS 2016 : conference date, 21-23 April 2016 : location, Antalya, Turkey

Large scale machine learning with Spark : discover everything you need to build robust machine learning applications with Spark 2.0

The politics of innovation : why some countries are better than others at science and technology

Possessing nature museums, collecting, and scientific culture in early modern Italy

Proceedings of the International Conference on Science, Technology and Social Sciences (ICSTSS) 2012

Quantum inspired computational intelligence research and applications

R : unleash machine learning techniques : find out how to build smarter machine learning systems with R : follow this three module course to become a more fluent machine learning practitioner : a course in three modules.

Real-world machine learning

Science studies during the Cold War and beyond : paradigms defected

Science, policy, and the value-free ideal

Science, values, and objectivity

Social network sites for scientists : a quantitative survey

Stalin and the scientists : a history of triumph and tragedy, 1905-1953

A tale of seven scientists and a new philosophy of science

Wondrous truths : the improbable triumph of modern science

 

Detailed LC Classification

  • QD 1-65 - General Works
    • QD 11-18 - History
    • QD 21-23 - Biography
    • QD 24-26 - Alchemy
    • QD 27-28 - Early Works
    • QD 31-39 - General Books and Textbooks
    • QD 39.3 -- Computational chemistry
    • QD 40-49 - Study and teaching
    • QD 51-65 - Laboratory techniques, apparatus, handbooks, etc.
  • QD 71-142 - Analytical chemistry
    • QD 81-98 - Qualitative analysis
    • QD 95-98 - Spectroscopy and spectrum analysis
    • QD 101-142 - Quantitative analysis
  • QD 146-197 - Inorganic chemistry
    • QD 156 - Inorganic synthesis
    • QD 161-169 - Nonmetals
    • QD 171-181 - Metals
    • QD 189-193 - Salts
    • QD 196 - Inorganic polymers
  • QD 241-449 - Organic chemistry
    • QD 262 - Organic synthesis
    • QD 271-272 - Organic analysis
    • QD 291 - Nomenclature, named reactions
    • QD 300-315 - Aliphatic compounds
    • QD 320-327 - Carbohydrates
    • QD 330-341 - Aromatics
    • QD 380-388 - Polymers
    • QD 399-406 - Heterocyclics
    • QD 410-412 - Organometallic chemistry
    • QD 415-441 - Biological chemistry, natural products
  • QD 450-899 - Physical and theoretical chemistry
    • QD 462 - Quantum chemistry
    • QD 466-467 - Chemical elements, isotopes, periodicity
    • QD 469 - Valence
    • QD 474 - Complex compounds (coordination compounds, clathrates, etc)
    • QD 475 - Physical inorganic chemistry
    • QD 476 - Physical organic chemistry
    • QD 476.2 - Biophysical chemistry
    • QD 477 - Acids and bases
    • QD 478 - Solid state chemistry
    • QD 501-502 - Chemical reactions, kinetics and mechanisms
    • QD 503 - Chemical equilibrium
    • QD 504 - Chemical thermodynamics
    • QD 505 - Catalysis
    • QD 506 - Surface chemistry
    • QD 510-539 - Thermochemistry
    • QD 540-548 - Theory of solution, solubility
    • QD 549 - Colloids, gels
    • QD 551-599 - Electrochemistry
    • QD 601-655 - Radiochemistry, nuclear chemistry
    • QD 701-731 - Photochemistry
    • QD 875-882 - Supramolecular chemistry
  • QD 901-999 - Crystallography

Search these call number ranges on the 3rd floor to find books in the stacks. Note that you will find the most recent books by searching Scholar OneSearch limiting to Library Catalogs (and then limiting to Full Text Online for ebooks).

Ask a Librarian

Get Help from a Librarian 

Phone, Text, Chat, Email, Visit

Feedback?

About This Guide
Email me any feedback you have about this guide -- tell me what's working and what's not.

About the Collection
Send me suggestions for new titles in this subject area.

About the Library
Use the library's Suggestion Box to send us your comments on anything else library-related.

test

Ebook

Citing Your Sources

ACS Style Guide--

      available online  

For help with your reference list, see chapter 14, "References," in Part Two, Style Guidelines

See more information on Citing/Bibliographies