Skip to main content

African American and African Studies: EMK Academy of Health Careers

A guide for research in African American and African Studies

Primary sources for research on Black Boston and the Civil Rights Movement @ Northeastern University

What are primary sources?

Archives and Special Collections and

Beyond Busing: Boston School Desegregation Archival Resources

Northeastern University Digital Repository                                         

                                                                  James Fraser images (desegregation photographs)

                                                                  School Desegregation

                                                                  Charles H. Bruce Photographs (early Black Boston)

                                                                  Carmen Pola (bilingual education activist)

                                                                  Inquilinos Boricuas en Accion (Puerto Rican activism)

                                                                  La Alianza Hispana (Pan-Latino activism)
                                                          
                                                                   
 

                                                                 Lower Roxbury Oral History Project (local activists)

Books @ BPL

Get a BPL library card to borrow books, search databases and listen/watch streaming media.

Places and Spaces in Boston

Boston Planning and Development Agency (formerly Boston Redevelopment Agency) has community information and data. Use the All Neighborhoods dropdown to find your community

 "Imagine All the People" is a series of publications about Boston communities, such as 
                                               Haitians in Boston

                                               Dominicans in Boston

 

includes     Education: Morgan vs. Hennigan

 


Crispus Attucks Online Museum   includes information about the Crispus Attucks Monument

Local Publications

Not scholarly, but Boston Magazine articles are available online with in-depth look at local issues and personalities.

Don’t F*ck with Linda
Henry Louis Gates Jr.: Head Negro In Charge

Remembering the Boston Busing Crisis, Four Decades Later

The Road to Perdition

What does "perdition" mean? Look it up on the Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Digital Resource

Google Cultural Institute -- Black History and Culture
A treasure trove of online black history and culture, including

 

Library of Congress and Other Collections

Changes over time: Library of Congress Subject Headings for African Americans

includes

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers'  Poject, 1936 to 1938.

Civil Rights History Project

Rosa Parks Papers
 


Collection of over 100 interviews with African Americans who migrated to Newark, New Jersey between 1910 and 1970. Videos are included with interviews. From the Sample stories page.

 


An online reference source to African American history.

Interacting with Primary Sources

University of Southern Mississippi. Special Collections. Student Printz front page 
NOTE: enlarge the image and select With Frazier to see the missing lead article!


includes  Animation of Freedom's Ring: King's "I Have a Dream" Speech
 

Use the The Digital Vault on Docs Teach to create exhibits or lessons from the resources in the Digital Vaults. 

A History of American Protest Music

Why Use Library Databases?