Skip to main content

African American and African Studies: Articles

A guide for research in African American and African Studies

Selected Journal Databases

Some suggested starting points for research in African and African American Studies. 

Academic Search Complete for different types of articles; use the menu on the left side of the screen to screen for scholarly articles.

EIU.com (Economist Intelligence Unit). Be sure to connect through the library webpage in order to be "recognized" by the EIU database. Full-text is updated frequently with country profiles and business/economic information.

Ethnic NewsWatch  for articles and news written from the minority perspective. Mostly full-text, and can be searched by "All Ethnic Groups" or focus on a specific racial/ethnic group, such as: African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, Multi-Ethnic and Native People.

 is a diverse collection of academic journals AND books. 
Search TIP: use the Advanced Search to the African, or African American, journals.

  Social Sciences Premium  has many databases, including IBSS, Social Services Abstracts, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts for searching abstracts and full text.

Sage Premier Journals Online --you can search ALL of the content from Sage with one search box!

Web of Knowledge is a multidisciplinary resource giving citation and analysis of articles and journals as well as links to selected full text.

Selected Open Access Journals

African Studies Quarterly--the online journal for African studies

Check the Directory of Open Access Journals for new journals

 Journal of Social Inclusion (JoSI)--open access and refereed

 Verbum et Ecclesia--published since 1979., this multi-disciplinary and inter-disciplinary theological journal aims to interrelate and explore the various theological and religious disciplines across the African continent and international arena