Skip to main content

Sociology : HONR 3301 Memory, Cultural Trauma and the Politics of Identity

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Finding Articles

Need books and articles? Use

  Develop your Research Question or Thesis

Start by writing a question or statement that describes your topic.  For example:

  • Who is an Ethnic? What does this mean for Identity?

  • The Holocaust--how do memories form identities in the Jewish Diasporas?

 Select your Research Tools

Here are some questions to help you get started with a class assignment or research project; you may have others. 

  • Do I need a broad overview of my topic?

    Dictionaries and encyclopedias provide concise surveys of ideas, events, historical figures, and other topics.Check the online titles and search Scholar OneSearch for specialized print research tools, such as Encyclopedia of the Holocaust

    Books or book chapters may also offer succinct overviews of a topic. Use Scholar OneSearch to locate relevant books and e-books on the Holocaust, slave trauma, or Northern Ireland. Don't forget to check the table of contents, bibliography and index of books for more information..
  • Will my presentation be more effective if it includes images (or other media, such as music, video, etc.)?

           The Library provides access to two image databases, ARTstor and 
           Associated Press Images

           Search Scholar OneSearch for media resources, such as the video,
           Behind the Mask: the IRA and Sinn Fein, book, and accompanying website
Visit the Library's Digital Media Design Studio to learn about other 
           multimedia resources and fair use practices.

  • Do I need numbers - data, statistics, or polls - to back up my thesis?

           The Library provides access to Data and Statistics and a Social Science Statisticspage, 

           Use iPOLL Databank for national public opinion poll questions and answers
           from the past 70+ years.

           Try our Scholar OneSearch for "disappeared persons" and
           "latin america". NOTE: the quotations will search the words as phrases.. 
           Choose an article search tool recommended in the Research Guides by Subject
           such as the Religion, History, or African American Studies.

           Use Individual selected interdisciplinary databases such as 
           Academic Search PremierJSTOR and Sage Journals Online
           NOTE:I found the article, "The
politics of memory and forgetting after 
           Auschwitz and apartheid" by Pieter Duvenage in the journal, 
           Philosophy and Social Criticism while
searching the Sage Journals collection.

           Search by subject heading in Academic Search Premier--for example
   northern ireland snip
           Use a specialized journal, such as Journal of Genocide Research for
           articles about the Holocaust, Armenians, Darfur, or Palestine.TIP: change the
           SU Subject Terms option to SO Journal Source.

              Do I need late breaking news on my topic?

           Try Newspaper resources

           You may wish to visit the University Archives & Special Collections or consult a staff member at the
           Research Assistance Desk.

           Digital primary sources may be found at 
                     Museums, such as The Holocaust Museum,
                                  The Museum of Tolerance (Darfur Drawings)

                     Library collections, such as Library of Congress digital collections
                                  Harvard University Open Collections Program see 
                                   (Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930)

Your Librarian

Christine Oka's picture
Christine Oka
Snell Library
(617) 373-3316

Copyright & Digital Copyright

Most library materials, whether they be books, articles, audio, videos, images, or many types of software, have restrictions on how they can be used or integreted with other materials.  Federal Copyright law gives the creators or authors of these materials protections against unfair use or reproduction.  At the same time, federal law allows certain leeway for "fair use" of these resources for educational purposes.

 Because of the complex and evolving nature of copyright law, rather than try to explain its nuances, this guide points to well known and detailed sites that do just that.  They are listed below.

In addition, the following links are to additional information on copyright from the NU Libraries.

NU Libraries Copyright information
Section of the Multimedia Guide pertaining to copyright