Skip to main content

Sociology : SOC 3407 The Immigrant Experience

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

  Selected Journal Databases

These are suggested starting points for research on the immigrant experience
REMINDER: The "Citation" and "Abstract Only" results will have this button tap the husky
Click on the Husky to Check for Full Text

America History and Life indexes the literature of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present

EconLit is the American Economic Association's bibliography of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations.

EIU.com (Economist Intelligence Unit). Be sure to connect through the library webpage in order to be "recognized" by the EIU database. This full-text resource is updated frequently and gives country profiles and business/economic information.

Ethnic NewsWatch Looking for articles and news written from the minority perspective? This mostly full-text collection can be searched by "All Ethnic Groups" or can focus on a specific racial/ethnic group, such as African American/Caribbean/African

JSTOR, short for "Journal Storage Project," searches a diverse collection of academic journals. Search TIP: use the Advanced Search to focus your search on the sociology journal collection.

PsycINFO is the the American Psychological Association's flagship database of 2.4 million articles, books and other international documents in psychology going back over a century. 98% peer-reviewed!

Sage Journals Online is a collection of over 560 journals from this publisher. Use the Search box to look in all of the journals for your research topic!

Social Services Abstracts indexes current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Sociological Abstracts is THE major index/abstract of international literature in sociology, social policy and change. Click on the Husky to check for full text.

Web of Knowledge provides citation information and analysis, as well as author abstracts, in this multidisciplinary database with over 8,500 high impact research journals.

Digital Collections and Primary Sources


Advocates for Human Rights, a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting and promoting human rights in the United States and around the world, links to a collection about immigration rights.

Imigration: Primary Source Sets is produced by the Library of Congress.

Immigration, the Changing Face of America, is a resource collection for educators on the topic of immigration. Parts include Immigration to the United States, 1851-1900 webpage with an overview of the period and links to documents and primary sources in the Library of Congress digital collection.

Segments of collection covers Mexican immigration., provides educational materials on Native Americans, and links to a PDF Senate Hearing report on legislation to provide relief to Haitian refugees

Open Collections Program: Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of selected materials in the Harvard University libraries, archives and museums documenting voluntary immigration to the US. The Immigration timeline is especially helpful.

New Search Tool

Try out 

 
This "everything" search box looks for books, media, ebooks, as well as journal articles.

Statistical Resources