Skip to main content

Sociology : SOCL 1000

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Getting Started

Have some keywords to describe your research topic? Use them in
Scholar OneSearch, (the Library Catalogs + Articles) option  to locate materials on your topic.

NOTE: Scholar OneSearch is a Google-like search engine. If you want to search the phrase, domestic violence, use quotation marks.

Get basic information using Dictionaries & Encyclopedias such as

Oxford English Dictionary 
THE authoritative source for definitions!       

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Contains substantial, signed articles with bibliographies

For interdisciplinary research, check suggested resources in subject guides developed by NU librarians and the First Year Writing Guide --there is a PLAN tab withy information about thesis statement(s) and research tools

PLANning your research-- Check the PLAN tab on the First Year Writing Page for sample thesis statements and choosing your research tools. 

citation style? See a sample APA research paper.

Question: what is the difference between keyword and subject searching?

Keyword searching is using key words that describe your topic.


 Here is a keyword seasrch in the search box for the library catalogs:

Scroll down the page and check related subject terms (which may be more precise):




Don't worry. 

The Interlibrary Loan Service allows you to request delivery of materials not available at the NU Libraries.  The main interlibrary loan service is called ILLiad. 

The ILLiad service is free of charge to NU students, faculty and staff.  Your article will be delivered in pdf, usually within 24 hours.

ILLiad can also deliver books, videos and other materials.

More information


WorldCat  provides another option for getting books, videos and other materials. NOTE: Go to Advanced Search, WorldCat has over one billion holdings, you want to do a more focused search to reduce the number of results. 

Research and Writing Support

Get Help  
with research questions and tech support. NOTE: Please use the Report a Problem form, especially if you are having access issues. 

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians work in several Library departments. They assist individuals and small groups with research projects.

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources. 

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (in the cafe area of Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

ITS (Information Technology Services) training includes practicing public speaking, as well as software workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNEU account in order to browse the schedule and register.

Searching for scholarly articles

Databases have different ways of searching:

How do I know it is a peer-reviewed journal?

Check the online reference source,  UlrichsWeb