Have some keywords to describe your research topic? Use them in
Scholar OneSearch, (the Library Catalogs + Articles) option to locate materials on your topic.
NOTE: Scholar OneSearch is a Google-like search engine. If you want to search the phrase, domestic violence, use quotation marks.
Oxford English Dictionary
THE authoritative source for definitions!
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Contains substantial, signed articles with bibliographies
provides standardized comparative data about countries.
Question: what is the difference between keyword and subject searching?
Intimate partner abuse
Victims of abuse
Violence against women
Check for recommended databases related to your research topic in Subject Guides, such as International Affairs, Education (has its own super search engine), Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies, or build your own search engine with the EbscoHost databases!
Subject Librarians work in several Library departments. They assist individuals and small groups with research projects.
Digital Media Commons
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources.
Archives and Special Collections
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.
The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (in the cafe area of Argo Tea), and online appointments. Book an appointment here!
ITS (Information Technology Services) training includes practicing public speaking, as well as software workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNEU account in order to browse the schedule and register.
A result list for a search on global poverty
Check Subjects: for alternative searches, such as poverty reduction, poverty international cooperation, etc.
Reviewing the research topic and revising the search strategy. The subject terms from the EbscoHost PsycARTICLES database, such as "stndards of physical attractiveness" could be used as keywords search terms in Scholar OneSearch. Also, check the 66 Cited References for additional resources.