Skip to main content

Sociology : Global Justice PHIL 5001

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Getting Started

Have some keywords to describe your research topic? Use them in Scholar OneSearch, (the Library Catalogs + Articles) option  to locate materials on your topic! 

NOTE: Scholar OneSearch is a Google-like search engine. If you want to search the phrase, climate change, use quotation marks!

Get basic information using Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, such as  

Oxford English Dictionary 
THE authoritative source for definitions!       

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Contains substantial, signed articles on philosphical aspects of social sciences.

  For interdisciplinary research, check suggested resources in subject guides developed by the NU librarians

Global Issues in Context covers a wide range of topics. Click on Browse Topics to see the entire list!

PLAN your research-- thesis statement? more keywords? what type of research tools?

citation style?

Resources in Philosophy

NOTE: Build your own search engine with the EbscoHost databases! 

Research and Writing Support

Get Help  
with citation, research questions, tech support

Subject Librarians Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Subject Librarians work in several Library departments. They assist individuals and small groups with research projects.

Digital Media Commons Edit/Delete Quick Stats
DMC is a collection of collaborative work and teaching spaces, with expert help in using the digital and 3-D resources. 

Archives and Special Collections Edit/Delete Quick Stats
Archives staff members work with primary source materials in both print and digital form.

The Writing Center
The Northeastern University Writing Center is open to any member of the NU community and exists to help any level writer, from any academic discipline, become a better writer.The Writing Center offers face-to-face appointments at 412 Holmes Hall, same-day appointments at 136 Snell library (behind the Argo Tea), and online appointments.  Book an appointment here!

ITS (Information Technology Services) training includes practicing public speaking, as well as software workshops. You will need to login in to your MyNEU account in order to browse the schedule and register.

Getting more information

A result list for a search on global poverty 

Check Subjects: for alternative searches, such as poverty reduction, poverty international cooperation, etc.

Scholarly, Academic, Peer-Reviewed Journals

Types of Periodicals

Have a journal title? Check Ulrich's Web to identify TYPE of journal.

Many databases also identify academic publications. See Academic Search Premier example: