Skip to main content

Sociology : Maps & Statistics

A guide to online and print resources in sociology.

Maps

American Geographical Society Library (AGSL) Digital Map Collection contains over 500 maps from the 15th to the 20th century

Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection, University of Texas, Austin contains current and historical maps.

Global Incident Map: A Global Display of Terrorism and Other Suspicious Events also links to a number of free public service information maps, covering HAZMAT Situations, Gang Activity, H1N1 Pandemic, Forest Fires, Border Security Issues and more

Massachusetts Historical Society online maps include twenty-four manuscript maps of local towns and counties dating from 1637-1809 and eight iconic printed maps of Massachusetts and Boston.

For local maps, the Boston Redevelopment Authority webpage has maps and aerial photographs.

U.S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Materials webpage provides a library of historical and thematic maps.

Worldmapper: The World as You've Never Seen It has maps showing areas of interest--not country boundaries. Looking for a map showing the distribution of wealth, income, food, housing?

Statistics

NEW! Social Science Statistics Research Guide

Boston community geographic, development and demographic information is available from the City of Boston's
Boston Planning and Development Agency.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics lists a variety of topics, such as aging, blood disorders, breast feeding, growth charts, life expectancy, and the workplace.

Global Health Observatory, a data repository of health-related statistics from around the world.

HCUP (Heathcare Cost and Utilization Project) Databases are administrative longitudinal databases containing information on inpatient stays, ER visits, ambulatory care in US hospitals.

Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia) provides selected census data from 1790-1970. By state and county. Users may select geographic and demographic variables to create customized tables with sorting features.

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) is a non-profit membership-based data archive based at University of Michigan. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

iPOLL Databank is a database of the Rope Center for Public Opinion Research archives. As this subscription resource is licensed by Northeastern University, please register with your NU e-mail address.

KidsCount Data Center is the place to get information about kids and families in your community, your state, and statistical state profiles

Measure DHS: Demographic and Health Surveys a collection of representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.

National Academies, Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education (DBASSE), National Statistics includes Health and social welfare, economic measurements such as income and cost-of-living, and decennial census data.

Pew Research Center is a non-partisan "think tank" which research and compiles Numbers, Facts and Trends Shaping Your World. Check their Topics Index for their reports on demographics, immigration, internet, and public policy.

Population Reference Bureau (PRB) "informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations." Use the DataFinder to browse for data geographically and by topic.

Statistical Abstracts of the US (Proquest)  (Current NU only) 

 U.S. Census Bureau The home page for finding U.S. population statistics. 

World Health Organization Statistical Information System) is part of the Global Health Observatory, a data repository providing access to over 50 datasets on priority health topics.

World Bank, a collection of international organizations to aid countries in their process of economic development with loans, advice, and research. The webpage is a portal to research tools such as publications, news updates and data collections.

Global Information Systems (GIS)

Visit the GIS and Data Visualization subject guide for more information and contacts!