Getting Started
Have some keywords to describe your research topic? Use them in the library catalog, NuCAT, to locate materials.
Get basic information using the Snell Reference collection or the library webpage to locate sources, such as
Encyclopedia Britannica
Historical Statistics of the United States
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Use the Complete A-Z List of Article and Other Databases to find article citations, or the articles.
The Center for Budget and Policy and Policy Priorities is a treasure trove of reports, media and statistics on topics ranging from climate change, federal budget, housing, welfare reform/TANF to social security. Updated frequently with a search box and a browse reports feature.
You could use Google Scholar to search for articles from academic publications. Don't forget to set your Preferences to Northeastern to connect linking to the NU Library collections.
Additional NU Links
Archives and Special Collections, NU Libraries, collects historically significant records of the University, as well as Documenting Diversity of under-represented communities in Boston.
Department of Sociology and Anthropology, research centers other useful links.
Welcome
NEW! Check the Spring 2013 Library Newsletter for upcoming changes at the University Libraries.
“Lots More E-Books” is a collection of over 50,000 academic titles in ebook format. This is a one year trial; we would like to hear back from users about the content or format.
To search the collection's full text content, enter through the ebrary Academic Complete link and select the Search tab.
Click the "Search ebrary" button when you've finished describing your search.

The complete collection from 1999 to the present is now available online! Use MyNEU to access from off-campus. Three ways to use this collection:
- Search All Journals in the collection--one search box for over 560 journals.
- Browse Journals by Title this option also lets you set up a list of My Favorite Journals!
- Browse Journals by Discipline the Social Science & Humanities discipine includes Anthropology and Archaeology, Cultural Studies, Ethnic Studies. and Family Studies
New look for Lexis Nexis Academic and a wiki to help users with the new interface.
AnthroSource, a service of the American Anthropological Associastion, provides access to AAA's diverse portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters
Pivot: Funding Connected is a database for locating funds for grants, fellowships, prizes and other types of funding from the public and private sector, including governments, foundations, and corporations
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a subset of the Web of Knowledge. After setting the search to SSCI, use the Cited reference searching to track prior research, see who is citing your work, measure the influence of someone's work, and navigate forward, backward and through the literature of your discipline. Linked to EndNoteWeb.
Finding Anthropology Materials in Snell Library
GN1-890 Anthropology
GN51-59 Anthropometry
GN62.8-265 Human variation
Including growth, physical form, skeleton, nervous system,
skin, etc.
GN269-279 Race (General)
GN280.7 Man as an animal.
Simian traits versus human traits
GN281-289 Human evolution
GN282-286.7 Fossil man. Human paleontology
GN296-296.5 Medical anthropology
GN301-674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
GN357-367 Culture and cultural processes
Including social change, structuralism, diffusion, etc.
GN378-396 Collected ethnographies
GN397-397.7 Applied anthropology
GN406-517 Cultural traits, customs, and institutions
GN406-442 Technology. Material culture
Including food, shelter, fire, tools, etc.
GN448-450.8 Economic organization. Economic anthropology
GN451-477.7 Intellectual life
Including communication, recreation, philosophy, religion,
knowledge, etc.
GN478-491.7 Social organization
GN492-495.2 Political organization. Political anthropology
GN495.4-498 Societal groups, ethnocentrism, diplomacy, warfare, etc.
GN502-517 Psychological anthropology
GN537-674 Ethnic groups and races
GN550-674 By region or country GN700-890 Prehistoric archaeology
Subject Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Citation Guides
AAA (Amercan Anthropological Association) Style Guide may be downloaded from this link.
AAA uses The Chicago Manual of Style ) if citation style is not covered in the AAA Style Guide.
There also a brief web guide to Chicago Manual of Style Online
Snell Library Reference collection includes the latest Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition, 2010) in print and online



Loading...
