Skip to main content

HUSV 4700: Capstone

Senior seminar class in Human Services

Resources

Academic Search Complete is interdisciplinary with academic as well as popular and news articles, a good place to start research.

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition contains authoritative articles on the social and behavioral sciences

CQ Researcher with in-depth, unbiased coverage of topics such as bullying, health care, death penalty, race and ethnicity.

DSM 5, the standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field, and helpful resource for description of disorders, behaviors, emerging assessment measure, cultural formation, etc.

PolicyFile is updated weekly with abstracts and links to international and domestic policy papers and reports. Browse the links to organizations, or keyword search for reports.

Looking for news articles? Check here for a list of news sources.

Looking for human services research articles?

Social Services Abstracts  THE resource for abstracts on research related to social services, but don't forget to also check--Sociological Abstracts, the major resource for abstracts from international literature for research in sociology and related disciplines

The best of both worlds: Sociology (ProQuest) has full-text articles from sociology and social work materials indexed in Sociological Abstracts AND Social Services Abstracts.

Find Overview Information

Issues and overview information may be found at:

Meet your Research and Writing Team

Find Information on Various Points of View

Specialized search tools to find issues and opinions include: 

  • CQ Researcher full text collection covering major issues with an overview article, pros and cons, chronology (timeline of the issue), along with a bibliography-- helpful for the annotated bibliography requirement.

Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that conducts public opinion surveys, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Check iPOLL
Database of the Roper Center at Cornell University. Provides data from national opinion polls, 1935 to present.